• Gear
  • en_US
  • de_DE
more

    Water filter LifeStraw Flex and a humanitarian project

    Similar articles

    Water filter LifeStraw Flex and a humanitarian project

    Lightweight water filter with activated charcoal element.

    We got another water filter for the test: the LifeStraw Flex, This filter follows a slightly different, extended concept. 

    The water filter LifeStraw Flex

    The complete filter element is sunk in the supplied soft water bottle and you can drink directly and conveniently from this complete system. The built-in activated carbon filter ensures better taste and extra security. The thread of the filter element also fits on standard PET bottles.

    Recently we have an article about Water treatment outdoors in which we explain why water has to be filtered and processed.

    Building the LifeStraw Flex

    The Lifestraw Flex is built as a two-phase filter:

    The first phase consists of a 0.2 micron microbiological filter which, according to the manufacturer, removes 99.999999% bacteria and 99.999% protozoa and can filter a total of 2000 liters before it needs to be replaced.

    The second phase consists of a replaceable activated carbon filter, which, according to the manufacturer, significantly reduces chlorine, lead and other heavy metals, which significantly improves the taste (and smell). This part of the filter has to be exchanged after 100 liters. 

    LifeStraw provides in-depth insights into the laboratory and measurement results of their filters, along with explanations of what was measured.

    In addition to a short manual, a syringe is also included as it is necessary to flush the filter element regularly. For this purpose, clean water is pressed through the filter against the filter direction, which dissolves adhering particles and flushes the filter.

    Prior to first use, this backflushing operation should be performed about five times to get the filter up and running. The flow rate, so the flow rate is not really intoxicating and about to compare with the Sawyer Mini. But it is the only filter that I know that comes with activated carbon, is very light and is so versatile.

    Complete with bottle weighs the system 105g, the filter element alone weighs 73g without a bottle. The size of the filter is similar to the Sawyer Mini, through the activated carbon element, it is a little longer.

    Follow the Liters - a great project!

    LifeStraw is a brand of Vestergaard, a family-owned company headquartered in Switzerland dedicated to global health and sustainability. Originally the technology was founded in 2005 to be used in crisis areas and after natural disasters.


    Vestergaard operates worldwide and ensures, for example, in crisis areas for clean water. In addition to LifeStraw® for clean water, they also offer PermaNet® mosquito nets. Their solutions are designed to make the world a little healthier and more sustainable, helping to fight malaria and HIV / AIDS, as well as nutrition and access to water. 

    "Vestergaard according to a humanitarian entrepreneurship business model, doing good and good business."

    From every LifeStraw product sold, part of the money goes to the Follow the Liters project. Vestergaard's mission is to provide students in rural Kenya with access to clean drinking water. Through direct funding from LifeStraw's revenues, the project is independent of donations or state funds and is also run directly by Vestergaard, without the support of partners or third parties. Transparency is important, so there is measurable and verifiable data on the implementation and progress of the program. Via the website, the locations of the schools, the number of filters installed and the number of pupils reached can be viewed.

    In February 2018, they were able to provide 1 million students with clean drinking water. And they will continue. Current information about the project is available at www.followtheliters.com.

    Comments

    LEAVE A REPLY

    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment is processed .

    1,000fansLike
    1,204FollowersFollow
    175FollowersFollow
    376FollowersFollow
    2,629FollowersFollow
    25SubscribersSubscribe

    Releases

Wir haben einen weiteren Wasserfilter zum Test bekommen: den LifeStraw Flex. Dieser Filter verfolgt ein etwas anderes, erweitertes Konzept. 

Der Wasserfilter LifeStraw Flex

Das komplette Filterelement wird in der mitgelieferten weichen Wasserflasche versenkt und man kann direkt und bequem aus diesem Komplettsystem trinken. Der verbaute Aktivkohlefilter sorgt dabei für besseren Geschmack und zusätzliche Sicherheit. Das Gewinde des Filterelements passt aber auch auf handelsübliche PET Flaschen.

Vor kurzem haben wir einen Artikel zur Wasseraufbereitung unterwegs veröffentlicht, in dem wir darauf eingehen, warum Wasser gefiltert und aufbereitet werden muss.

Aufbau des LifeStraw Flex

Der Lifestraw Flex ist als zweiphasiger Filter aufgebaut:

Die erste Phase besteht aus einem mikrobiologischen Filter mit 0,2 Micron, der laut Hersteller 99,999999% Bakterien und 99,999% Protozoen entfernt und insgesamt 2000 Liter filtern kann, bevor er ausgetauscht werden muss.

Die zweite Phase besteht aus einem austauschbaren Aktivkohle-Filter, der laut Hersteller Chlor, Blei und andere Schwermetalle reduziert den Geschmack (und Geruch) deutlich verbessert. Dieser Teil des Filters muss schon nach 100 Litern getauscht werden. 

LifeStraw ermöglicht ausführliche Einblicke in die Labor- und Messergebnisse ihrer Filter, mitsamt Erläuterungen, wie was gemessen wurde.

Mitgeliefert wird neben einer kurzen Anleitung auch eine Spritze, da man das Filterelement regelmässig spülen muss. Dazu wird sauberes Wasser entgegen der Filterrichtung durch den Filter gedrückt, was anhaftende Partikel löst und den Filter freispült.

Vor dem ersten Gebrauch soll dieser Rückspülvorgang etwa fünf Mal durchgeführt werden, um den Filter betriebsbereit zu machen. Die Flowrate, also die Durchflussrate ist nicht wirklich berauschend und etwa mit dem Sawyer Mini zu vergleichen. Dafür ist es der einzige, mir bekannte Filter, der mit Aktivkohle kommt, sehr leicht ist und so vielseitig einsetzbar ist.

Komplett mit Flasche wiegt das System 105g, das Filterelement alleine wiegt 73g ohne Flasche. Die Größe des Filters ist vergleichbar mit dem Sawyer Mini, durch das Aktivkohleelement ist er etwas länger.

Follow the Liters – ein tolles Projekt!

LifeStraw ist eine Marke von Vestergaard, einem familiengeführten Unternehmen mit Hauptsitz in der Schweiz, das sich der weltweiten Gesundheit und Nachhaltigkeit verschrieben hat. Ursprünglich wurde die Technologie 2005 gegründet, um in Krisengebieten und nach Naturkatastrophen eingesetzt zu werden.


Vestergaard agiert weltweit und sorgt zum Beispiel in Krisengebieten für sauberes Wasser. Neben LifeStraw® für sauberes Wasser bieten sie auch PermaNet® Moskitonetze an. Ihre Lösungen sollen die Welt etwas gesünder und nachhaltiger machen, sie helfen unter anderem Malaria und HIV / AIDS zu bekämpfen und sorgen sich neben dem Zugang zu Wasser auch um die Ernährung. 

„Vestergaard operates according to a humanitarian entrepreneurship business model, whereby doing good is good business.”

Aus jedem verkauften LifeStraw Produkt fließt ein Teil in das Projekt „Follow the Liters“. Vestergaard hat es sich zur Aufgabe gemacht, Schülern in ländlichen Regionen Kenias den Zugang zu sauberem Trinkwasser zu ermöglichen. Durch die direkte Finanzierung aus den Erlösen von LifeStraw ist das Projekt unabhängig von Spenden oder staatlichen Geldern und wird auch direkt von Vestergaard betrieben, also ohne Unterstützung von Partnern oder Drittparteien. Transparenz wird großgeschrieben, so gibt es mess- und überprüfbare Daten über die Umsetzung und den Fortschritt des Programms. Über die Website können die Standorte der Schulen, die Anzahl der installierten Filter und die Zahl der erreichten Schüler eingesehen werden.

Im Februar 2018 konnten sie 1 Million Schüler mit sauberem Trinkwasser versorgen. Und sie werden weiter machen. Aktuelle Informationen zum Projekt gibt es unter www.followtheliters.com.

Werbeanzeigen
Überblick der Rezensionen
Preis/Leistung
Flowrate
Gewicht
Aktivkohle
Sven Giersig
Sven ist Soziologe und Teilzeitabenteurer und vor allem: Fußgänger aus Leidenschaft. Er betreibt aufundab.eu seit Ende 2010, und ist dort Founder, Troubleshooter und Löwenbändiger.

Kommentieren Sie den Artikel

Bitte geben Sie Ihren Kommentar ein!
Bitte geben Sie hier Ihren Namen ein

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.