more

    Westweg: Waldau - Titisee, quitting (5)

    Similar articles

    Westweg: Waldau - Titisee, quitting (5)

    Ninth Stage: Kalte Herberge - Titisee, 21 km, 1980m / 1230m

    In the morning my right ankle is strangely stiff. As I move, the Achilles tendon creaks. I mean, she creaks audibly! Not good at all…

    Does not matter, "that will run away already," I think while packing. Carefully, I am running ahead. The creaking and the pain tempt me to move the right leg only in restraint. After a few kilometers, I realize then that this non-round bending overstrained the hips. Slowly but surely I am really annoyed. I stubbornly survived the worst illnesses, got myself back up, got fit. My body has already gone through so much, just now, lately, and now it's slacking.

    At Lake Titisee we decide, after looking at the weather forecast for the next days: quitting. Health is the most important thing. In addition, to hobble the last 50 kilometers over the Feldberg during thunderstorms, not a really nice way to end of the tour.

    We also decide to stay one more day on the campsite, which beautifully situated by the lake, and treat ourselves to some "holiday".

    Overall, we were nine and a half days on the road, where we spent a rest day in Hausach. We hiked 212 kilometers with 12,000 vertical meters and 11,200 vertical meters descent. We had a bubble together, a tick, and about forty cups of coffee. We were hungry and thirsty, we sweated and frozen and we also had two uncanny encounters with animals and one with humans.

    Later, after the tour, it's clear: in spring I was treated with Flourchinolonen , with ciprofloxacin, to be specific. The stuff is known to attack the Achilles tendon. In retrospect, I'm glad that I just limped with a few weeks and went off lightly.

    << Part 4

    Literature:

    Click the bottom button to load the contents of Share Your Adventure.

    Load content

    Comments

    LEAVE A REPLY

    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment is processed .

    985fansLike
    1,130FollowersFollow
    187FollowersFollow
    376FollowersFollow
    2,417FollowersFollow
    26SubscribersSubscribe

    Releases

    Gear

    Seilschaft

    trekking-lite-store.com

    Ausrüstung für Klettern, Bergsport und Outdoor bei Bergfreunde.de kaufen

    en_USEN

Neunte Etappe: Kalte Herberge – Titisee, 21 Kilometer,  1980m / 1230m

Am Morgen ist mein rechtes Sprunggelenk seltsam steif. Beim Bewegen knarrt die Achillessehne. Ich meine, sie knarrt hörbar! Gar nicht gut…

Egal, “das wird sich schon weglaufen”, denke ich beim Zusammenpacken. Vorsichtig humple ich voran. Das Knarren und die Schmerzen verleiten mich dazu, das rechte Bein nur noch in Schonhaltung zu bewegen. Nach einigen Kilometern merke ich dann aber, dass dieses unrunde Abwinkeln die Hüfte überanstrengt. Langsam aber sicher bin ich wirklich genervt. Ich habe hartnäckig auch die schlimmsten Erkrankungen durchgestanden, mich wieder aufgerappelt, fit gemacht. Mein Körper ist schon durch so vieles gegangen, gerade jetzt in der letzten Zeit, und jetzt macht er schlapp.

Am Titisee beschließen wir, nach einem Blick auf die Wettervorhersage für die nächsten Tage: Abbruch. Gesundheit geht vor. Außerdem ist, bei Gewitter die letzten 50 Kilometer über den Feldberg zu humpeln, kein so richtig schöner Ausblick auf das Ende der Tour.

Wir beschließen auch, noch einen Tag hier zu bleiben, auf dem schön am See gelegenen Campingplatz, und uns etwas “Urlaub” zu gönnen.

Insgesamt waren wir neuneinhalb Tage unterwegs, wobei wir einen Pausentag in Hausach verbrachten. Wir sind 212 Kilometer mit 12.000 Höhenmeter Anstieg und 11.200 Höhenmeter Abstieg gewandert. Wir hatten zusammen eine Blase, eine Zecke, und um die vierzig Tassen Kaffee. Wir hatten Hunger und Durst, haben geschwitzt und gefroren und auch noch zwei unheimliche Begegnungen mit Tieren und eine mit Menschen gehabt.

Später, nach der Tour, wird klar: ich bin im Frühjahr mit Flourchinolonen behandelt worden, mit Ciprofloxacin, um genau zu sein. Das Zeug ist bekannt dafür, dass es die Achillessehne angreift. Im Rückblick bin ich froh, dass es mit einigen Wochen humpeln und schonen noch glimpflich ausgegangen ist.

<< Teil 4

Literatur:

Werbeanzeigen

Kommentieren Sie den Artikel

Bitte geben Sie Ihren Kommentar ein!
Bitte geben Sie hier Ihren Namen ein

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.