• Adventure
  • en_US
  • de_DE
more

    Morocco: Trekking through the barren land of the Berbers

    Similar articles

    Morocco: Trekking through the barren land of the Berbers

    Lonely hike in the footsteps of the Berber nomads

    Crossing the Djebel Sarhro between N'Kob and Tagdilt is rightly one of the most popular tours in Morocco. Various and very contrasting landscapes are wandered through, one always encounters nomads and Berber villages of Ait Atta.

    The contrast of the barren stone deserts and green oases could hardly be greater.

    YouTube

    Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
    Mehr erfahren

    Video laden

    First day: N'Kob - Handour

    From Agdz to N'Kob we drove by Grand Taxi. Once there is properly tidy chill ("relax max!" Would say in Morocco), bread, canned fish and fuel for the fuel stove shopped.

    In the afternoon, after a lot of palaver "where from, where to?" We finally go in the direction of Handour. Now it's time to cross the very wide, dry and flat Dades plain, then gently ascend behind it into the Djebel Sarhro. As far as the plan. Shortly after N'Kob we put in the first break, in the shadow of a stream house. It's hotter than expected, the way is wide, the stomach is empty. We decide to try it in the hostel recommended to us. Once there, we decide after some abruptly short negotiation attempts, but to go further and camp somewhere. 200 dirhams from our remaining 400Dh just for one night is really not in it! 

    We keep on traipsing and are suddenly honed. A minibus! After a little negotiation - again - we climb the miserably rickety vehicle and let us bring the rest of the route to our milestone goal Handour. A good idea, because the track is still neat. A few river bends behind the Dort Handour we open our first camp.

    On a flat and slightly raised rock band on the left side of the Oued (river valley) we set up, leave the tent in the backpack and enjoy a night under the stars. And what a starry sky that was!

    Second day: Handour - Irhazzoun'N'Imlas

    After a sensitive cold night, we pack up quickly and march along the valley. Such oasis valleys are usually also the connecting routes between the villages, so we are making good progress. The path is not always visible as such, but it is clear: further and further down the valley. Some settlements later it gets hotter, especially as we leave the valley and cross the gentle slopes, the sun beats and burns our still white skin with unusual strength. Again and again we come past villages, greet friendly and are greeted friendly. We miss the Hanout (small shop), which according to our guide should be here somewhere. Anyway, our supplies last until the next day. 

    A wide valley fans out, we are now on a wide level. Dust, sand, pebbles, stones, rocks, all surrounded by high cliffs. The environment gets barren. We have to turn right, up the hill to the saddle. From up there the Bab'n'Ali should be seen. The Bab'n'Ali (the Gate of Ali) is the landmark of the Jebel Sarhro, our path leads right past it, and then again to bend to the north.

    Since yesterday we have spent most of our time hiking in green, shady valleys that, with sophisticated irrigation systems, allow agriculture in the middle of the desert landscape. Now we go through a landscape in which only low, tough shrubs thrive. At lunchtime we arrive at the pass, using an obviously popular playground under a huge boulder to rest and eat in the shade. Bread and canned fish - the standard travel food in Morocco: high energy density and relatively low weight. For dessert some dates. In the haze on the horizon we mean to actually recognize the rock formation of Bab'n'Ali.

    In the next village we ask about the Hanout, the girl accompanies us with a smile to a house at the very bottom right of the village. In no time we sit in a cool room on rugs, cushioned with pillows, a low table in front of us, then the obligatory tea and snacks. Bread, olive oil, cream cheese, jam. We chat with the boss of the house, a pretty and still quite young Berber woman, play a little with the two children. Fortunately, we have some pins (stylo) plugged in and for the first time they come as an honor in their honor and are immediately tried extensively and singing.

    At some point it is time to leave, we say goodbye and leave some money for tea and food there (a little secret, because she actually wanted to invite us) and go on, back to the village, then right to the "last house with palm tree" , There it should go again into a narrow valley. On the way there we pass a party: in front of a house a big nomad tent, laughing, singing, clapping. However, we are intercepted and politely further complimented. 

    It gets dark very quickly at this time of year, it is well advised to look for a camp at five o'clock, because at six o'clock it is already dusk. Under palm trees, on a concrete drainage ditch, we build our tent on and cook. We camp right on the connecting path between two villages, which in the course of the evening still provides a topic of conversation between us and the passers-by.

    Day 3: Irhazzoun n'Imlas - Bab'n'Ali - Boilouz

    The way to the Bab'n'Ali runs hot, dusty and rocky, especially on the plateau, on which stands the landmark of Sarhro. Of course we do not really have a good grip on our time schedule, we are on the plateau punctually at lunchtime. The sun burns, every patch of skin that is not protected immediately reddens. The back of the hand and the face we lubricate thick and drag us through the heat. At the foot of the Bab'n'Ali we build a little more shade on a puny boulder with the help of our rucksacks and crouch below. It takes a long time to cool down to operating temperature. Further down the valley are palm trees, even the chuckle of a stream can be heard. Here we rest extensively and eat: bread and canned fish.

    Good morning and strengthened we arrive a little later at the famous Hanout and approve us a Coke, fill our bread and fish supplies (three breads and sardines) and march further down, turn left into a narrow valley and: wow! What a great place! Shady, cool, a chuckle and roar echo from the steep walls. Large pools invite you to linger (we did not dare to bathe). We spend a long time here, enjoying the water, washing and refreshing ourselves.

    Distance bouldering is announced: over large and small boulders, through narrow passages, it goes to the end of the valley. The steep walls lean back, the valley opens. On the piste high above the valley we go easy and fast towards Boilouz. Once there, we look for a while after the described route - 25 minutes after the village, it should go left in a steep zig-zag - and do not find the way. At dusk we set up our tent.

    Fourth day: Boilouz - Igli 

    Also the next morning we do not find the way, lose a lot of time and actually do not really know until noon, whether that's all right. Everyone is afraid, all the way back to Boilouz (or to the place we think he is Boilouz, because the village is not marked on the map) - if we have the return route at all Find. More for gut feeling than knowledge, we walk around this mountain, through this valley over there, climb the hill on the left, cross a wide plateau to suddenly stand before a precipice. Crap. Even as we think, we hear a woman calling from the opposite. Where is she? There is something moving .. Goats! And there, the shepherdess. I mean to see her pointing to the right and calling. So we go right, along the edge of the steep slope and suddenly find a way. Tire tracks? Clearly, a two-wheeler! For bicycle tires way too wide. Well, that's a good sign. Soon we also find the slip, it goes steeply downhill. In the Alps, this would be a challenging hiking trail, T3 determined. And here one is driving around with a motorcycle! 

    A small settlement appears, we literally fly towards it. Someone comes to us, anxious, desperately I ask "Igli?". He grins: "Oui Igli! Fatigue? "Oh yes, we're done. Leached physically by the heat, nervously tense from wandering.

    Under the nomad tent in the courtyard, we spread out, are lovingly supplied with tea and biscuits. When we are halfway through our senses again, we decide to spend the rest of the day here and recharge our batteries. The next few days will be physically exhausting, most of the altitude of the entire tour are still ahead of us and bring us to an altitude of 2500 meters.

    Igli is a real oasis for us, and we enjoy the fullest, even allowing ourselves a hot shower. For this purpose, a boiler with dry bushes and nutshells must be heated behind the house. We even get the leftovers and feel like people in the evening. Impressed by the rock walls of the Tassigdelt Tamajgalt we fall asleep.

    Fifth Day: Igli - Ascent Kouaouch 2592m- Tizi'n Ouarg

    Early, very early we get up - we want to have come far before the midday heat. The ascent up and past the Tassigdelt Tamajgalt is beautiful, again and again you get great views back to the starting point of the tour, and even further to the Djebel Bani. Behind it goes directly to the sandy desert Sahara. It is pleasantly cool, the rock formations are a feast for the eyes. On the way, we even go as geologists and knock on strange stone bubbles, hoping to find beautiful crystals in it. But most of them are filled with dust, some of them have crystals in them, but they're not pretty at all. Still cool.

    At the top of the pass, we first look for water. Some ponds right back, in a narrow gorge, are actually covered with ice. We fill our water tanks, because only in the evening will we come across a well again, in shā'Allāh.

    Somewhat undecided, as we continue now, we decide on one of the paths and go on it. Continuing along increasingly deserted areas, following the narrowing trail of the path, we are getting higher and higher. Suddenly the path stops at Azibs (stone walls to protect the nomad tent as well as a fence).

    Always going north, we climb at the end of the valley, without a track. It can not be

More

    Marokko: Trekking durch das karge Land der Berber

    Ähnliche Artikel

    Marokko: Trekking durch das karge Land der Berber

    Einsame Wanderung auf den Spuren der Berber-Nomaden

    Die Durchquerung des Djebel Sarhro zwischen N’Kob und Tagdilt ist zu Recht eine der meistbegangenen Touren in Marokko. Verschiedenste und sehr gegensätzliche Landschaften werden durchwandert, man trifft immer wieder auf Nomaden und Berberdörfer der Ait Atta.

    Der Kontrast der kargen Steinwüsten und grünen Oasen könnte kaum größer sein.

    YouTube

    Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
    Mehr erfahren

    Video laden

    Erster Tag: N’Kob – Handour

    Von Agdz nach N’Kob fuhren wir per Grand Taxi. Dort angekommen wird erstmal ordentlich gechillt (“relax max!” würde man in Marokko sagen), Brot, Dosenfisch und Sprit für den Benzinkocher eingekauft.

    Nachmittags, nach viel Palaver “woher, wohin?” gehen wir dann endlich los in Richtung Handour. Es gilt nun, erst die sehr breite, trockene und topfebene Dades-Ebene zu durchqueren, um dahinter dann sanft ansteigend in den Djebel Sarhro aufzusteigen. Soweit der Plan. Kurz hinter N’Kob legen wir dann aber schon die erste Pause ein, im Schatten eines Stromhäuschens. Es ist heißer als gedacht, der Weg ist weit, der Magen leer. Wir entschließen uns, es in der uns empfohlenen Herberge zu versuchen. Dort angekommen, entscheiden wir aber nach einigen abrupt kurzen Verhandlungsversuchen, doch weiter zu gehen und irgendwo zu campen. 200 Dirham von unseren verbliebenen 400Dh nur für eine Übernachtung ist nun wirklich nicht drin! 

    Wir latschen weiter und werden plötzlich angehupt. Ein Minibus! Nach ein wenig Verhandlung – wieder mal – besteigen wir das elendig klapprige Gefährt und lassen uns den Rest der Strecke zu unserem Etappenziel Handour bringen. Eine gute Idee, denn die Strecke zieht sich doch noch ordentlich. Einige Flußbiegungen hinter dem Dort Handour schlagen wir unser erstes Lager auf.

    Auf einem flachen und leicht erhöhtem Felsband auf der linken Seite des Oued (Flusstal) richten wir uns ein, lassen das Zelt im Rucksack und genießen eine Nacht unter Sternen. Und was für ein Sternenhimmel das war!

    Zweiter Tag: Handour – Irhazzoun’N’Imlas

    Nach einer doch empfindlich kühlen Nacht packen wir flott zusammen und marschieren das Tal entlang. Solche Oasen-Täler sind meist auch die Verbindungswege zwischen den Dörfern, wir kommen also gut voran. Der Pfad ist zwar nicht immer als solcher sichtbar, aber dennoch ist klar: immer weiter im Tal. Einige Siedlungen später wird es heißer, vor allem als wir das Tal verlassen und die sanften Hänge queren, sticht die Sonne und verbrennt unsere noch weiße Haut mit ungewohnter Stärke. Immer wieder kommen wir an Dörfern vorbei, grüßen freundlich und werden freundlich begrüßt. Den Hanout (kleiner Laden), der laut unserem Führer hier irgendwo sein sollte, verpassen wir. Egal, unsere Vorräte reichen noch bis zum nächsten Tag. 

    Ein breites Tal fächert sich auf, wir sind inzwischen auf einer breiten Ebene. Staub, Sand, Steinchen, Steine, Felsen, ringsum eingefasst von hohen Felswänden. Die Umgebung wird karger. Wir müssen nach rechts, die Anhöhe hoch zum Sattel. Von dort oben soll schon der Bab’n’Ali zu sehen sein. Der Bab’n’Ali (das Tor des Ali) ist das Wahrzeichen des Jebel Sarhro, unser Weg führt direkt daran vorbei, um dann wieder weiter nach Norden abzuknicken.

    Seit gestern sind wir die meiste Zeit in grünen, schattigen Tälern gewandert, die, mit ausgeklügelten Bewässerungssystemen ausgestattet, in Mitten der wüstenhaften Landschaft Landwirtschaft erlauben. Nun gehen wir durch eine Landschaft, in der nur noch niedrige, zähe Büsche gedeihen. Um die Mittagszeit sind wir am Pass angelangt, nutzen einen offensichtlich gerne genutzten Pausenplatz unter einem riesigen Felsblock, um im Schatten zu rasten und zu essen. Brot und Dosenfisch – die Standard-Reisenahrung in Marokko: hohe Energiedichte bei relativ geringem Gewicht. Zum Nachtisch einige Datteln. Im Dunst am Horizont meinen wir, tatsächlich schon die Felsformation des Bab’n’Ali zu erkennen.

    Im nächsten Dorf fragen wir nach dem Hanout, das Mädchen begleitet uns mit einem Lächeln zu einem Haus ganz am rechten, unteren Ende des Dorfes. Im Handumdrehen sitzen wir in einem kühlen Raum auf Teppichen, mit Kissen gepolstert, ein niedriges Tischlein vor uns, darauf der obligatorische Tee und Snacks. Brot, Olivenöl, Frischkäse, Marmelade. Wir plaudern mit der Chefin des Hauses, einer hübschen und noch recht jungen Berberfrau, spielen ein wenig mit den beiden Kindern. Zum Glück haben wir einige Stifte (stylo) eingesteckt und zum ersten Mal kommen diese als Aufmerksamkeit zu ihren Ehren und werden sofort ausgiebig und singend ausprobiert.

    Irgendwann wird es Zeit aufzubrechen, wir verabschieden uns und lassen noch etwas Geld für Tee und Essen da (etwas heimlich, weil eigentlich wollte sie uns einladen) und gehen weiter, wieder zurück ins Dorf, dann rechts bis zu dem „letzten Haus mit Palme“. Dort soll es wieder in ein enges Tal gehen. Auf dem Weg dorthin kommen wir an einer Party vorbei: vor einem Haus ein großes Nomadenzelt, lachen, singen, klatschen. Wir werden jedoch abgefangen und höflich weiterkomplimentiert. 

    Es wird sehr schnell dunkel um diese Jahreszeit, man ist gut beraten, schon um fünf Uhr einen Lagerplatz zu suchen, denn um sechs Uhr ist es schon dämmrig. Unter Palmen, an einem in Beton gefassten Bewässerungsgraben, bauen wir unser Zelt auf und kochen. Wir campen direkt auf dem Verbindungsweg zwischen zwei Dörfern, was im Laufe des Abends noch für Gesprächsstoff zwischen uns und den Passanten sorgt.

    Dritter Tag: Irhazzoun n’Imlas – Bab’n’Ali – Boilouz

    Der Weiterweg zum Bab’n’Ali verläuft heiß, staubig und steinig, vor allem auf der Hochebene, auf der das Wahrzeichen des Sarhro steht. Natürlich haben wir unsere Zeitplanung nicht wirklich gut im Griff, pünktlich zur Mittagszeit stehen wir auf dem Plateau. Die Sonne brennt, jeder Flecken Haut, der nicht geschützt ist, rötet sich sofort. Die Handrücken und das Gesicht schmieren wir dick ein und schleppen uns durch die Hitze. Am Fuße des Bab’n’Ali bauen wir uns auf einem mickrigen Felsblock mit Hilfe unserer Rucksäcke ein wenig mehr Schatten und kauern uns darunter. Es dauert lange, bis wir wieder auf Betriebstemperatur heruntergekühlt sind. Ein Stück weiter das Tal hinunter stehen Palmen, sogar das Glucksen eines Baches ist zu hören. Hier rasten wir noch mal ausgiebig und essen: Brot und Dosenfisch.

    Gut gelaunt und gestärkt kommen wir wenig später am berühmten Hanout an und genehmigen uns eine Cola, füllen unsere Brot und Fisch Vorräte auf (je drei Brote und Sardinendosen) und marschieren weiter hinunter, biegen links in ein enges Tal ein und: wow! Was für ein toller Platz! Schattig, kühl, ein Glucksen und Rauschen hallt von den steilen Wänden wieder. Große Pools laden zum Verweilen (baden haben wir uns nicht getraut). Lange verbringen wir hier, genießen das Wasser, wir waschen und erfrischen uns.

    Distanzbouldern ist angesagt: über große und kleine Felsblöcke, durch schmale Durchgänge hindurch, geht es bis ans Ende des Tals. Die steilen Wände lehnen sich zurück, das Tal öffnet sich. Auf der Piste hoch über dem Tal gehen wir einfach und schnell in Richtung Boilouz. Dort angekommen suchen wir noch eine ganze Weile nach dem beschriebenen Wegverlauf – 25 Minuten nach dem Dorf soll es links in steilem Zick-Zack hinauf gehen – und finden den Weg nicht. In der Dämmerung bauen wir unser Zelt auf.

    Vierter Tag: Boilouz – Igli 

    Auch am nächsten Morgen finden wir den Weg nicht, verlieren viel Zeit und wissen eigentlich bis zum Mittag nicht wirklich genau, ob das alles so stimmt. Die Stimmung ist gereizt, jeder hat Angst, den ganzen Weg wieder nach Boilouz (oder zu dem Ort, von dem wir annehmen, dass er Boilouz ist. Das Dorf ist nämlich in der Karte nicht eingezeichnet) zurück zu müssen – sofern wir den Rückweg überhaupt finden. Mehr nach Bauchgefühl denn nach Wissen gehen wir um diesen Berg herum, durch dieses Tal da drüben, besteigen den Hügel da links, queren eine weite Hochebene, um plötzlich vor einem Abgrund zu stehen. Mist. Noch während wir überlegen, hören wir vom gegenüberliegenden eine Frau rufen. Wo ist sie? Dort bewegt sich etwas.. Ziegen! Und da, die Hirtin. Ich meine zu sehen, wie sie nach rechts zeigt und ruft. Also gehen wir rechts, an der Kante des Steilabbruchs entlang und stoßen plötzlich auf einen Weg. Reifenspuren? Eindeutig, ein Zweirad! Für Fahrradreifen viel zu breit. Na also, das ist doch ein gutes Zeichen. Bald finden wir auch den Durchschlupf, es geht steil bergab. In den Alpen wäre das ein anspruchsvoller Wanderweg, T3 bestimmt. Und hier fährt einer mit einem Motorrad ’rum! 

    Eine kleine Ansiedlung taucht auf, wir fliegen förmlich darauf zu. Jemand kommt uns entgegen, bange, verzweifelt frage ich „Igli?“. Er grinst: „Oui Igli! Fatigue?“ Oh ja, wir sind ganz schön fertig. Körperlich ausgelaugt von der Hitze, nervlich angespannt vom Umherirren.

    Unter dem Nomadenzelt im Innenhof breiten wir uns aus, werden liebevoll mit Tee und Keksen versorgt. Als wir wieder halbwegs bei Besinnung sind, beschließen wir, den Rest des Tages hier zu verbringen und Energie zu tanken. Die nächsten Tage werden körperlich anstrengend, die meisten Höhenmeter der gesamten Tour liegen noch vor uns und bringen uns in eine Höhe von 2500 Metern.

    Igli ist eine richtige Oase für uns, und wir genießen aus vollen Zügen, genehmigen uns sogar eine heiße Dusche. Dazu muss hinter dem Haus ein Boiler mit trockenen Büschen und Nussschalen angeheizt werden. Sogar die Reste des Mittagessens bekommen wir und fühlen uns gegen Abend wieder wie Menschen. Beeindruckt von den Felswänden des Tassigdelt Tamajgalt schlafen wir ein.