• Gear
  • en_US
  • de_DE
more

    Cooking on the way: recipe tip CousCous

    Similar articles

    Cooking on the way: recipe tip CousCous

    When cooking on the way, some factors play a role that are less important at home: on the one hand there is the durability and especially the weight of the food, but also things like fuel consumption should be considered. Heavy cans or long cooking rice will automatically fall out. Cooking should also be practicable, as you only have one flame at a time, a maximum of 2 pots and usually a small amount of water for subsequent rinsing.

    If you're not out backpacking, you should go shopping. I always have that way Couscous, Soup cubes, spices (a handful of these small paper bags with salt and pepper from the burger next door are very handy ...) and a jar of oil from home and on the way complement if possible with a little fresh vegetables, salami and so on.

    CousCous, Bulgur or similar (durum wheat grits in different coarse grains) you get almost everywhere, at least in Europe and North Africa. It does not have to cook, like pasta or rice, forever, but only for a few minutes. Enriched with fresh vegetables from the souk or the field next door, who likes to take meat, salami, ham, fish, etc. to. Also a sweet variant with (dry) fruits and nuts is delicious and brings variety.

    A couscous recipe: the standard of my travel kitchen for 2 people

    • different vegetables, onion, garlic, depending on supply situation
    • Tomato puree / pith / sauce, also depending on supply situation
    • who likes it: diced salami, bacon, ham ...
    • Soup cubes for the seasoning, salt, pepper, fresh herbs, lemon .. just what is available.

    Fry the onion and salami, sauté the vegetables for a short time, add the tomato puree, crumble the bouillon cubes, about 3/4 cup (of course the classic: the Berghaferl Add couscous to it and fill up with water. CousCous draws neat liquid and swells easily on the double volume, so maybe the flame just turn down and now and then pour a sip of water.

    Advertisements

    Comments

    LEAVE A REPLY

    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment is processed .

    1,027fansLike
    1,205FollowersFollow
    180FollowersFollow
    376FollowersFollow
    2,646FollowersFollow
    25SubscribersSubscribe

    Releases

Beim Kochen unterwegs spielen einige Faktoren eine Rolle, die zu Hause weniger wichtig sind: zum einen wäre da die Haltbarkeit und vor allem das Gewicht der Lebensmittel, aber auch Dinge wie der Brennstoffverbrauch sollten bedacht werden. Schwere Dosen oder lange zu kochender Reis fallen damit automatisch ‘raus. Praktikabel sollte das Kochen auch noch sein, hat man doch schließlich nur eine Flamme, maximal 2 Töpfe und meist wenig Wasser zum anschließenden Spülen zur Verfügung.

Wenn man nicht gerade im Outback unterwegs ist, sollte man Einkaufsmöglichkeiten nutzen. So habe ich eigentlich immer CousCous, Suppenwürfel, Gewürze (eine Handvoll dieser kleinen Papierbeutelchen mit Salz und Pfeffer vom Burgerbräter nebenan sind sehr praktisch…) und ein Döschen Öl schon von zu Hause dabei und ergänze unterwegs nach Möglichkeit um ein wenig frisches Gemüse, Salami und so weiter.

CousCous, Bulgur oder ähnliches (Hartweizengries in verschieden groben Körnungen) bekommt man fast überall, zumindest in Europa und Nordafrika. Der muss nicht, wie Nudeln oder Reis, ewig kochen, sondern nur einige Minuten ziehen. Angereichert wird mit frischem Gemüse vom Souk oder vom Feld nebenan, wer mag nimmt noch Fleisch, Salami, Schinken, Fisch o.ä. dazu. Auch eine süße Variante mit (Trocken-)Obst und Nüssen ist lecker und bringt Abwechslung.

Ein CousCous Rezept: der Standard aus meiner Reiseküche für 2 Personen

  • verschiedene Gemüse, Zwiebel, Knoblauch, je nach Versorgungslage
  • Tomatenpüree / Mark / Sauce, ebenfalls je nach Versorgungslage
  • wer es mag: gewürfelte Salami, Speck, Schinken…
  • Suppenwürfel für die Würze, Salz, Pfeffer, frische Kräuter, Zitrone.. eben was vorhanden ist.

Zwiebel und Salami anbraten, Gemüse kurz mitdünsten, Tomatenpüree dazu, Brühwürfel darüberbröseln, ca. 3/4 Becher (natürlich der Klassiker: das Berghaferl CousCous dazu und mit Wasser auffüllen. CousCous zieht ordentlich Flüssigkeit und quillt locker auf das doppelte Volumen, deshalb vielleicht die Flamme nur runterdrehen und ab und zu einen Schluck Wasser nachgießen.

Werbeanzeigen

Kommentieren Sie den Artikel

Bitte geben Sie Ihren Kommentar ein!
Bitte geben Sie hier Ihren Namen ein

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.