more

    Glärnisch - above the sea of fog

    Similar articles

    Glärnisch - above the sea of fog

    With bivouac at the Glärnischhütte on the lookout mountain near Glarus. Ruchen (2901m) and Vrenelisgärtli (2904m).

    Climb in the last corner

    After celebrating the birthday of the buddy on the banks of the Klöntaler lake (850m) with grill and wine we make our way towards the Glärnischhütte in the afternoon around four o'clock. The trail initially runs flat on the road and then steeply up in the forest Chlüstalden (1063m). Here, the valley kinks to the south, in all directions you can now see only towering mountain flanks. Now it goes flat on the farm road, until the small? Ferienort? Chäseren (1219m) is reached. There is a well here, we refill the bottles for the steep climb that will come. A short while on the road, then over the stinking cow meadows of the Alp Warmer (1385m), before only a narrow trail winds up the steep meadows. A small rock bar is insured here, otherwise the path has the perfect slope to quickly reach the remaining altitude Glärnischhütte (1990m) to manage something. This is already unexpected at the beginning of October, but is not yet ready for winter. With our sleeping pads and sleeping bags, we prefer to lie outside after we have cooked well. The valley here has now made another bend to the east, so cell phone reception is very limited 🙂

    Two peaks of the Glärnisch

    It gets late only, so we set the alarm to 6 o'clock. In the dark we start, first across meadows, then scrambling next to the climbing garden. Soon you can see flattened rocks, where the Glärnischfirn was not so long ago. On this impressive landscape with small pools and lots of loose boulders, it goes flat ahead, the twilight begins and in the west, the first peaks show. From the beginning of the Glärnischfirns (about Pt. 2373) you can already see the first goal, the Schwander ridge, recognize. Without crampons you can run super on the apera glacier, except for the steeper place at the very end. The few larger columns can be handled quickly, and only from about 2700m there is snow on the ice. Here, however, the track is drawn so well and the gaps are so obvious that the rope remains in the backpack. Arriving at the rocky slope towards Vrenelisgärtli, the sun's rays finally warm. The lower land is under an almost flat cloud cover, whose upper limit is approximately 1600 meters. This view is beautiful. On the chains, you can just hang down, until you stand on the lower ridge, in shallow ups and downs and with light Kraxelstellen at the end up to the summit of Vrenelisgärtli (2904m) leads. The weather is almost cloudless, we cook coffee and enjoy the silence and the distance to the far below valley.

    From the hut to here we took about 2.5 hours with breaks.

    After a long summit rest we make our way back on the way back, turn after the rock upswing on the Schwander ridge but north. Here waits for stimulating Kraxelei still the Ruchen (2901m), almost as high as the other peak and directly above Lake Klöntaler. The walls to the north and east break off so steeply that you can get dizzy. There is also a longer break here, after all we have time. At some point, however, we make our way and shorten the way to the Glärnischfirn by looking for our way directly on the karstified rock. There are many crevices here, and the stone is very sharp. A pleasure to scramble, and finding paths has always been fun 🙂

    Off to the valley - altitude for the knees

    The descent over the Glärnischfirn and then to the hut is made quickly. But we enjoy the magnificent view as long as possible. At the hut are three people who have come up in the morning, flown with a paraglider into the valley and have come back up. This is also a performance, especially it is now pretty hot during the day, and the beginning of October!

    Now only the freestyle is waiting for us. Through the steep meadows, it goes down again, down the Felsriegel and over the stinking cow meadows through the flat Rossmatter valley back to Klöntal Vorauen, where we also just catch the bus to Glarus. Great tour!

    Comments

    LEAVE A REPLY

    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment is processed .

    1,004fansLike
    1,216FollowersFollow
    198FollowersFollow
    376FollowersFollow
    2,643FollowersFollow
    26SubscribersSubscribe

    Releases

    Wild camping and bivouacing

    Just pitch your tent and enjoy nature? In Germany and Europe this is not allowed everywhere. We give important hints and tips.

    Muesli bar make yourself

    For your upcoming Trailläufe and hikes I would like to reveal one of my favorite recipes, with which you can conjure up super delicious cereal bars on the go.

    The energy bomb Pemmikan simply made by yourself

    Pemmican is a very rich and long-lasting mixture of dried meat, fat and various spices. As energy-rich Reiseproviant it is from the ancient Indians ...

    Gear

    The Dachstein Terra Approach shoe in the field test

    Dachstein? Wait, I know her! My first hiking boots, in green with a beige sole, were from Dachstein. I have the...

    Seilschaft

    trekking-lite-store.com

    Ausrüstung für Klettern, Bergsport und Outdoor bei Bergfreunde.de kaufen

    en_USEN
    de_DEDE en_USEN

Mit Biwak an der Glärnischhütte auf den Aussichtsberg bei Glarus. Ruchen (2901m) und Vrenelisgärtli (2904m).

Aufstieg im letzten Eck

Nach dem Feiern des Geburtstages vom Kumpel am Ufer des Klöntaler Sees (850m) mit Grill und Wein machen wir uns nachmittags gegen vier Uhr auf den Weg zur Glärnischhütte. Der Wanderweg verläuft zunächst flach auf der Strasse und dann im Wald steil hinauf nach Chlüstalden (1063m). Hier macht das Tal einen Knick nach Süden, in alle Richtungen sieht man jetzt nur noch aufragende Bergflanken. Nun geht es flach auf dem Wirtschaftsweg voran, bis der kleine ?Ferienort? Chäseren (1219m) erreicht wird. Hier gibt es einen Brunnen, wir füllen die Flaschen nochmal auf für den steilen Anstieg, der da kommen wird. Noch ein kurzes Stück auf der Strasse, dann über die stinkenden Kuhwiesen der Alp Wärben (1385m), bevor sich nurmehr ein schmaler Wanderpfad die steilen Wiesen hochschlängelt. Ein kleiner Felsriegel ist hier versichert, ansonsten hat der Weg die perfekte Steigung, um schnell die restlichen Höhenmeter zur Glärnischhütte (1990m) zu bewältigen. Diese ist jetzt, Anfang Oktober, schon unbewartet, aber noch nicht winterfertig gemacht. Mit unseren Isomatten und Schlafsäcken legen wir uns aber lieber draussen hin, nachdem wir erstmal deftig gekocht haben. Das Tal hier hat nun wieder einen Knick nach Osten gemacht, der Handyempfang hält sich also sehr in Grenzen 🙂

Zwei Gipfel des Glärnisch

Es wird erst spät hell, wir stellen den Wecker daher auf 6 Uhr. Im Dunkeln geht es los, erst über Wiesen hinauf, dann kraxelnd neben dem Klettergarten. Bald erkennt man plattgeschliffene Felsen, wo der Glärnischfirn sich vor nicht allzu langer Zeit noch befunden hat. Über diese eindrückliche Landschaft mit kleinen Tümpeln und viel losem Geröll geht es flach voran, die Dämmerung beginnt und im Westen zeigen sich die ersten Gipfel. Vom Anfang des Glärnischfirns (ca. Pt. 2373) kann man schon das erste Ziel, den Schwander Grat, erkennen. Ohne Steigeisen lässt sich auf dem aperen Gletscher super laufen, bis auf die steilere Stelle ganz am Ende. Die wenigen größeren Spalten lassen sich schnell umgehen, und erst ab ca. 2700m liegt Schnee auf dem Eis. Hier ist allerdings die Spur so gut gezogen und die Spalten liegen so offensichtlich, dass das Seil im Rucksack bleibt. Am Felsabschwung Richtung Vrenelisgärtli angekommen, wärmen endlich mal die Sonnenstrahlen. Das Unterland liegt unter einen fast ebenen Wolkendecke, deren Obergrenze ca. bei 1600 Metern liegt. Dieser Ausblick ist wunderschön. An den Ketten kann man sich einfach runterhangeln, bis man auf dem unteren Grat steht, der in seichtem Auf und Ab und mit leichten Kraxelstellen am Schluss bis auf den Gipfel des Vrenelisgärtli (2904m) führt. Das Wetter ist fast wolkenlos, wir kochen Kaffee und genießen die Stille und die Entfernung zu dem weit unter uns liegenden Tal.

Von der Hütte bis hier haben wir ungefähr 2,5 h mit Pausen gebraucht.

Nach einer ausgiebigen Gipfelrast machen wir uns wieder auf den Rückweg, biegen nach dem Felsaufschwung auf dem Schwander Grat aber nach Norden ab. Hier wartet nach anregender Kraxelei noch der Ruchen (2901m), fast genauso hoch wie der andere Gipfel und direkt über dem Klöntaler See. Die Wände nach Norden und Osten brechen so steil ab, das einem schwindlig werden kann. Auch hier gibt es eine längere Pause, wir haben schliesslich Zeit. Irgendwann jedoch machen wir uns auf den Weg, und kürzen den Weg zum Glärnischfirn ab, indem wir direkt auf dem verkarsteten Gestein unseren Weg suchen. Hier gibt es viele Felsspalten, und der Stein ist sehr scharfkantig. Ein Genuss zum Kraxeln, und Pfadfinden macht halt schon seit jeher Spaß 🙂

Ab ins Tal – Höhenmeter für die Knie

Der Abstieg über den Glärnischfirn und dann zur Hütte ist schnell gemacht. Die grandiose Aussicht genießen wir aber, solange es geht. An der Hütte sind drei Leute, die schon in der Früh hochgekommen, mit dem Gleitschirm ins Tal geflogen und wieder heraufgelaufen sind. Das ist auch ne Leistung, vor allem ist es jetzt tagsüber ziemlich drückend warm, und das Anfang Oktober!

Jetzt wartet auf uns nur noch die Kür. Durch die steilen Wiesen geht es wieder hinunter, den Felsriegel hinab und über die stinkenden Kuhwiesen durch das flache Rossmatter Tal wieder zurück nach Klöntal Vorauen, wo wir auch grad den Bus nach Glarus erwischen. Tolle Tour!

Werbeanzeigen
Fabian
Fabian ist ein sportbegeisterter Student aus Konstanz, viel in den Bergen unterwegs, am Liebsten auf Skitouren, Bergtouren, Hochtouren, Hauptsache lang und anstrengend!

Kommentieren Sie den Artikel

Bitte geben Sie Ihren Kommentar ein!
Bitte geben Sie hier Ihren Namen ein

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.