more

    Frogg Togg's Ultralite2 Rain Suit tested

    Similar articles

    Frogg Togg's Ultralite2 Rain Suit tested

    (Rain) jacket like pants? Waterproof, windproof and breathable for a total of 30 €? The DriDucks of Frogg Toggs are popular with long-distance hikers, especially in the US, and are praised there in the highest tones. Out of curiosity, what's up with the things, I ordered the complete Rain Suit and tested the cheap Hardshell.

    The set of jacket and pants comes in a small pack bag - and looks dressed, like those suits of forensics in the TV crime fiction. A rubbery outer layer, laminated inside with a fiber reminiscent of thin felt and above all: huge! Oversized is already on the pack, and you can really pull just about everything the backpack gives - and it still fits the jacket and pants over it.

    Material and workmanship

    The manufacturer states for the Ultralight line that it uses a bi-laminate of polyethylene and polypropylene. Polypropylene is the lightest commercially available fiber and due to its high surface tension it passes moisture and sweat very well. It is abrasion resistant and resistant to many acids, alkalis and organic solvents. Made of polyethylene (eg Tyvek) is the physically fitting counterpart on the outside: low density, does not absorb moisture, but lets it through - is permeable and yet waterproof - is also durable and very resistant to chemicals.

    The combination of these materials, the structure and appearance is slightly different than the usual rainwear laminates: the usual outer material is saved, thus the membrane is quasi open, only from the inside, the vapor-permeable polypropylene fabric is laminated. This processing has several advantages:

    • You save the weight of a complete layer of outer fabric
    • nothing has to be re-impregnated due to the absence of the outer material. This promises lasting better breathability - if the membrane used is not microporous or not destroyed or glued

    Indeed, similar suits are used as protective clothing in medical clean room situations or for laboratory applications and the chemical industry.

    Frogg Toggs says nothing about the typical values like breathability and water column for the Ultralite2 Suit, some research on comparable materials (DriPore Gen2) by Frogg Toggs shows the values> 15.000mm and> 10.000 g / m2 / 24h. This is now the quasi-standard, you should not go under it anyway. 

    Frogg Toggs rain jacket

    The weight of the jacket surprised at least as much as the feel and appearance. The blue I ordered reminds of something between garbage bag and construction site. The jacket is clearly oversized in size S, because it suits a thick down jacket underneath.

    The zipper makes a favorable impression, but should last at least as long as the jacket. The cuffs are closed with a sewn rubber quite well, the hood is large and without volume adjustment at the back, so it slips a little way in the face. But she can draw by drawstring tight to the face. There are no annoying seams on the shoulders that could rub under the backpack wearers.

    Frogg Toggs rain pants

    As for the jacket also applies to the pants: size matters. It is very wide cut, but is held by elastic on the hips.

    field test

    Here in the Munich Hausbergen is striking not so easy. Quietly colorful people in sinfully expensive clothes populate the mountains every weekend. With Frogg Toggs you are there but definitely the eye-catcher. The simple garbage bag design looks so uncool cheap that it's cool again.

    Surprisingly, Frogg Toggs Ultralite2 is really waterproof and reasonably breathable. I have already tested some rain jackets and also worn them, but these are really the price-performance hit. If they were to cut something, just a little, prettier, it would be enough for vanity on the mountain. Technically, they are by no means doubtful, though they really look like that. It is an experience ever!

    update:

    Having a few meters of tape with you is certainly not wrong! Really robust and durable, the part is not, once scrub on the rock and ratchet is a crack in it.

    Also Dennis from outdoor-blog.com she had in the test.

    At Amazon's there DriDucks in a set for less than 20 € to order*.

    Advertisements

    Comments

    LEAVE A REPLY

    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment is processed .

    1,006fansLike
    1,228FollowersFollow
    191FollowersFollow
    376FollowersFollow
    2,651FollowersFollow
    26SubscribersSubscribe

    Releases

    Wild camping and bivouacing

    Just pitch your tent and enjoy nature? In Germany and Europe this is not allowed everywhere. We give important hints and tips.

    Muesli bar make yourself

    For your upcoming Trailläufe and hikes I would like to reveal one of my favorite recipes, with which you can conjure up super delicious cereal bars on the go.

    The energy bomb Pemmikan simply made by yourself

    Pemmican is a very rich and long-lasting mixture of dried meat, fat and various spices. As energy-rich Reiseproviant it is from the ancient Indians ...

    Gear

    Merino underwear for women by super.natural

    We had the Fresh Mesh and the Max Ponte material mix from super.natural in ski touring. Super.natural is characterized by the intelligent mix of synthetic fiber covered with merino wool ...

    Seilschaft

    trekking-lite-store.com

    Ausrüstung für Klettern, Bergsport und Outdoor bei Bergfreunde.de kaufen

    en_USEN
    de_DEDE en_USEN

(Regen-)Jacke wie Hose? Wasserdicht, winddicht und atmungsaktiv für zusammen 30€? Die DriDucks von Frogg Toggs sind bei Fernwanderern, vor allem in den USA, beliebt und werden dort in den höchsten Tönen gelobt. Aus reiner Neugier, was es mit den Dingern auf sich hat, habe ich mir den kompletten Rain Suit bestellt und die billige Hardshell getestet.

Das Set aus Jacke und Hose kommt in einem kleinen Packbeutel – und sieht angezogen aus, wie diese Anzüge der Spurensicherung im Fernsehkrimi. Eine gummiartige Außenschicht, innen laminiert mit einer an dünnen Filz erinnernden Faser und vor allem: riesengroß! Oversized steht schon auf der Packung, und man kann wirklich so ziemlich alles drunter ziehen, was der Rucksack hergibt – und es passt immer noch die Jacke und Hose darüber.

Material und Verarbeitung

Der Hersteller gibt für die Ultralight Linie an, daß er ein bi-Laminat aus Polyethylen und Polypropylen verwendet. Polypropylen ist die leichteste handelsübliche Faser und leitet aufgrund seiner hohen Oberflächenspannung Feuchtigkeit und Schweiß sehr gut weiter. Sie ist scheuerfest und gegen die viele Säuren, Laugen und organische Lösungsmittel beständig. Aus Polyethylen (z.B. Tyvek) ist der physikalisch passende Gegenpart auf der Außenseite: niedrige Dichte, nimmt keine Feuchtigkeit auf, lässt diese aber durch – ist also diffusionsoffen und dennoch wasserdicht – ist zudem belastbar und sehr beständig gegen Chemikalien.

Durch die Kombination dieser Materialien ist der Aufbau und die Optik etwas anders als bei Laminaten der üblichen Regenkleidung: der sonst übliche Außenstoff wird eingespart, dadurch liegt die Membran quasi offen, nur von innen ist das dampfdurchlässige Polypropylen Gewebe auflaminiert. Diese Verarbeitung hat einige Vorteile:

  • man spart das Gewicht einer kompletten Lage Außenstoff
  • durch das Fehlen des Außenstoffs muss nichts nachimprägniert werden. Das verspricht dauerhaft bessere Atmungsaktivität – sofern die verwendete Membran nicht mikroporös ist oder nicht zerstört oder verklebt wird

Tatsächlich werden aus diesen Materialien vergleichbare Anzüge als Schutzkleidung in medizinischen Reinraumsituationen oder für Laboranwendungen und für die chemischen Industrie verwendet.

Zu den typischen Werten wie Atmungsaktivität und Wassersäule gibt Frogg Toggs zwar nichts für den Ultralite2 Suit an, etwas Recherche bei vergleichbaren Materialien (DriPore Gen2) von Frogg Toggs ergeben die Werte >15.000mm und >10.000 g/m2/24h. Das ist jetzt mittlerweile der Quasi-Standart, darunter sollte man sowieso nicht gehen. 

Frogg Toggs Regenjacke

Das Gewicht der Jacke überrascht mindestens ebenso wie die Haptik und Optik. Das von mir bestellte Blau erinnert an etwas zwischen Müllbeutel und Baustelle. Die Jacke ist in der Größe S deutlich oversized, da passt locker eine dicke Daunenjacke drunter.

Der Reißverschluss macht einen günstigen Eindruck, sollte aber mindestens so lange halten wie die Jacke. Die Armbündchen schließen mit einem eingenähten Gummi ganz gut ab, die Kapuze ist groß und ohne Volumenregulierung hinten, daher rutscht sie etwas weit in’s Gesicht. Dafür lässt sie sich aber per Kordelzug eng an’s Gesicht ziehen. Durch den Reglanschnitt befinden keine störenden Nähte an den Schultern, die unter den Rucksackträgern scheuern könnten.

Frogg Toggs Regenhose

Wie für die Jacke gilt auch für die Hose: size matters. Sie ist sehr weit geschnitten, wird aber per Gummizug auf den Hüften gehalten.

Praxistest

Hier in den Münchner Hausbergen ist Auffallen ja gar nicht mal so einfach. Quietschbunte Leute in sündhaft teuren Klamotten bevölkern jedes Wochenende die Berge. Mit Frogg Toggs ist man da aber auf jeden Fall der Hingucker. Das schlichte Müllsackdesign sieht so uncool billig aus, daß es schon wieder cool ist.

Überraschenderweise ist Frogg Toggs Ultralite2 wirklich wasserdicht und halbwegs atmungsaktiv. Ich hab’ schon so einige Regenjacken getestet und auch verschlissen, aber diese hier sind schon echt der Preis-Leistungs-Knüller. Wenn sie jetzt bitte noch etwas, nur ein wenig, hübscher geschnitten wären, würde sie auch der Eitelkeit am Berg genügen. Technisch sind sie keinesfalls zweifelhaft, obwohl sie wirklich so aussehen. Eine Erfahrung ist sie allemal!

Update:

Ein paar Meter Klebeband dabei zu haben ist sicherlich nicht verkehrt! Wirklich robust und langlebig ist das Teil nicht, einmal am Fels scheuern und ratsch ist ein Riss drin.

Auch Dennis vom outdoor-blog.com hatte sie im Test.

Bei Amazon gibt’s die DriDucks im Set für unter 20€ zu bestellen*.

Werbeanzeigen
Überblick der Rezensionen
Gewicht
Preis
Haltbarkeit
Sven
Sven ist Soziologe und Teilzeitabenteurer und vor allem: Fußgänger aus Leidenschaft.

Kommentieren Sie den Artikel

Bitte geben Sie Ihren Kommentar ein!
Bitte geben Sie hier Ihren Namen ein

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.