more

    One-day kiteboarding on 1 June on the Cima di Jazzi

    Similar articles

    One-day kiteboarding on 1 June on the Cima di Jazzi

    Long and harmless glacier ski tour from Zermatt (1605m) over the Findel Glacier to the Cima di Jazzi (3803m) and back.

    The summer has dawned, the last tours with light luggage and a quick kick in Ticino are still sitting in the legs. Nevertheless, after the last snowfalls and loud attractive tour reports on the internet, we are drawn back to higher mountains, and that with skis. These mountains are most likely to be found in Switzerland in the canton of Valais, which is why we go to Zermatt (1605M) drive.

    There we arrive at midnight by train. In well-known manner, we fill our bottles in the station toilet and make our way through the village. It's Saturday night, but in the off-season, there's something going on in two pubs. We strapped the skis and boots on our backs and put on some sneakers to make the snow-free first kilometers easier to run. We follow the signs Winkelmatten (P. 1672) and branch off on the trail towards Findeln (Ze Gassen). This leads up in serpentines through the narrow forest belt, in an ideal slope, where you make fast altitude. A cat likes to join us a little through the night. Soon we will reach Ze Gassen (P. 2051), and go on towards Gant, first steeply past the ski bar "Chez Vroni" and then right along the slope to the Mosjesee (P. 2140), There is still no snow here (June is clear), but in the northern slope on the other side of the valley. Once you have passed the lake, you reach it Gant pretty fast, either left or right of the stream.

    This is where two ski lifts meet, and the last part of the trail even reaches here. It is now a quarter to two, so we spread out on a concrete slab and enjoy the cloudless sky with a clear view of the Matterhorn. After all the little stones are removed from the plate, we can also get sleeping mat and sleeping bag and fall asleep practically instantaneously.

    The alarm goes off at 6:30, it's already daylight outside, and halfway rested we go packing. In the morning it is already quite fresh, but for the ski tour we have packed anyway glove, hat and Primaloftjacke. We store sleeping things, sneakers, etc. behind a large stone and make us in ski clothes on the way. Unfortunately, the trail ends after about 50 meters and we buckle off again, first to the wide path and then the trail to P. 2483 to follow. From here, the snow cover is closed again, but is still so strong that we continue to leave the skis on the backpack, as we move so faster. Around the debris mountains left behind by the glacier we follow well visible departure lanes and reach at approx. 2600m the glacier.

    Here we finally strap on, the sun also comes out over the beam horn and warms a bit. Since we have a rope with us, we put that on too. Although not really necessary on this glacier, but the fresh snow on the melting snow cover you can be careful. So it starts on the long flat Findelgletscher, always towards the Weissgrat. The hours and miles pass, the pathfinding is obvious, as the Cima is straight ahead all the time. Varied breaks, for example a pile on the wide glacier, are very welcome :). The snow makes you really want to downhill, with increasing altitude, it is always powdery. Shortly below the summit, we come upon the tracks of two predecessors, but they drove over the Weisstor. And shortly thereafter: On the highest peak of the Weissgrats, the Cima di Jazzi (3803m).

    Although at this high altitude, Rimpfischhorn (4199m) and Strahlhorn (4190m) are on the left and the Monte Rosa massif (4634m) on the right is looking down on us. An awesome view of these mountain giants, and opposite the Zermatt the Matterhorn, Dent Blanche, Weisshorn and the other four-thousander. Really a beautiful corner of the Alps, the hammer. The Monte Rosa east wall can be seen from here, the view to the east over the Ticino to the Engadin is unfortunately under clouds. At the summit we vespern first, as far as we can see, no one else is on the way.

    From Gant to the summit we needed 6 hours with breaks, it is now 12 noon.

    After a long break, we are very hot, because now it's finally down, and again on skis. A fantastic descent awaits us. Top powder, then the same a little heavier, good for surfing, and from about 3400m then optimal slope conditions. Hard surface with minimal powder coating, which creates funny driving patterns when seen from below. Once back at the glacier tongue, we do not even pack it. When we have gathered, we go further, we have to cross the slope. Again at P. 2483 arrived, we meet two who have departed from the Strahlhorn.

    We do not stay up long, but shoulder the skis, slip down the last snowfields and run back to P. 2314, This is where the last remainder of the ski slope begins, so buckle up again and enjoy the 30-second downhill to Gant. But that was probably the last ski downhill, before finally going into the summer. In Gant Let's take a long break, dry our clothes and put on the light shoes again.

    The downhill to Zermatt is beautiful, blue sky and postcard view of the Matterhorn. We follow our ascent path and reach Winkelmatten at about 17 clock, which leaves us plenty of time, us before the railway station to sit down, to watch the goings-on and to drink two beers. On the ski tour!

    Ascent and descent 2200Hm. Even in high winter easy and safe ski tour. Super nice glacier downhill, nowhere steep. As a more relaxed tour of the Stockhorn feasible, but you have to pay for the lift. Equipment: Actually no rope, avalanche equipment only in tricky conditions and Stockhornroute. However, the mountain will not lower, so acclimatize, take a lot of drinks and sunscreen and a GPS, if it is cloudy.

    Advertisements

    Comments

    LEAVE A REPLY

    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment is processed .

    1,023fansLike
    1,205FollowersFollow
    181FollowersFollow
    376FollowersFollow
    2,655FollowersFollow
    26SubscribersSubscribe

    Releases

    Wild camping and bivouacing

    Just pitch your tent and enjoy nature? In Germany and Europe this is not allowed everywhere. We give important hints and tips.

    Comment: the matter with the mountain rescue service and unreasonableness

    First of all, the mountain rescue service is there for a single reason - so that it can provide help in the mountains! So she called ...

    10 backpacking essentials

    If you are just starting to hike, you have certainly heard many tips on what you should carry everything. Of course, everyone is ticking differently, but in principle it can be broken down to 10 essentials.

    Gear

    66 North: Vik Hooded Sweater

    The Women's Vik Hooded Sweater by 66 North - a fleece jacket you do not want to take off! domestic equipments

    Seilschaft

    trekking-lite-store.com

    Ausrüstung für Klettern, Bergsport und Outdoor bei Bergfreunde.de kaufen

    en_USEN
    de_DEDE en_USEN

Lange und ungefährliche Gletscherskitour von Zermatt (1605m) über den Findelgletscher auf die Cima di Jazzi (3803m) und wieder zurück.

Der Sommer ist angebrochen, die letzten Touren mit leichtem Gepäck und schnellem Tritt im Tessin sitzen noch in den Beinen. Trotzdem ziehts uns nach den letzten Schneefällen und lauter anziehenden Tourenberichten im Internet wieder auf höhere Berge, und zwar mit Skiern. Diese Berge findet man in der Schweiz am ehesten noch im Wallis, weswegen wir wieder mal nach Zermatt (1605m) fahren.

Dort kommen wir um Mitternacht mit dem Zug an. In altbekannter Manier füllen wir in der Bahnhofstoilette unsere Flaschen auf und machen uns auf den Weg durch das Dorf. Es ist Samstagnacht, in der Nebensaison ist aber gerade man in zwei Kneipen etwas los. Wir haben die Skier und Skischuhe auf den Rücken geschnallt und haben extra Turnschuhe angezogen, damit die schneefreien ersten Kilometer leichter zu laufen sind. Wir folgen den Wegweisern nach Winkelmatten (P. 1672) und zweigen auf den Wanderweg Richtung Findeln (Ze Gassen) ab. Dieser führt in Serpentinen durch den schmalen Waldgürtel hinauf, in idealer Steigung, bei der man flott Höhenmeter macht. Eine Katze findet Gefallen daran, uns ein wenig durch die Nacht zu begleiten. Bald erreichen wir schon Ze Gassen (P. 2051), und weiter gehts Richtung Gant, erst steil an der Skibar “Chez Vroni” vorbei und dann rechts am Hang entlang zum Mosjesee (P. 2140). Hier liegt immer noch kein Schnee (klar ist ja Juni), aber im Nordhang auf der anderen Talseite schon noch. Ist man am See mal vorbei, erreicht man Gant ziemlich schnell, entweder links oder rechts vom Bach haltend.

Hier treffen sich zwei Skilifte, und ein letzter Rest der Piste reicht sogar noch bis hierher. Es ist jetzt Viertel vor Zwei, wir breiten uns also auf einer Betonplatte aus und geniessen den wolkenlosen Himmel mit freier Sicht aufs Matterhorn. Nachdem die ganzen kleinen Steinchen von der Platte mal entfernt sind, können wir auch Isomatte und Schlafsack rausholen und schlafen praktisch instantan ein.

Der Wecker geht um halb 6, es ist schon taghell draussen, und halbwegs ausgeschlafen machen wir uns ans Einpacken. In der Früh ist es schon noch recht frisch, aber für die Skitour haben wir sowieso Handschuh, Mütze und Primaloftjacke eingepackt. Wir verstauen Schlafsachen, Turnschuhe usw. hinter einem großen Stein und machen uns in Skiklamotten auf den Weg. Leider endet der Pistenrest nach ca. 50 Hm und wir schnallen wieder ab, um zuerst dem breiten Weg und danach dem Wanderpfad bis P. 2483 zu folgen. Ab hier liegt die Schneedecke wieder geschlossen, ist aber noch so trittfest, dass wir weiterhin die Skier am Rucksack lassen, da wir so schneller voran kommen. Um die vom Gletscher zurückgelassenen Schuttberge herum folgen wir gut sichtbaren Abfahrtsspuren und erreichen auf ca. 2600m die Gletscherzunge.

Hier schnallen wir nun endlich an, die Sonne kommt auch über dem Strahlhorn hervor und wärmt ein wenig. Da wir ein Seil dabei haben, legen wir auch das an. Ist zwar eher nicht notwendig auf diesem Gletscher, aber durch den Neuschnee auf der schmilzenden Schneedecke kann man ja vorsichtig sein. So geht es los auf dem langen flachen Findelgletscher, immer dem Weissgrat entgegen. Die Stunden und Kilometer ziehen vorüber, die Wegfindung ist offensichtlich, da die Cima die ganze Zeit geradeaus zu sehen ist. Abwechslungsreiche Pausen, z.B. ein Häufchen machen auf dem weitgestreckten Gletscher, sind da sehr willkommen :). Der Schnee macht aber schon richtig Lust auf die Abfahrt, mit zunehmender Höhe wird er immer pulvriger. Kurz unter dem Gipfel stoßen wir auf die Spuren zweier Vorgänger, die aber übers Weisstor abgefahren sind. Und kurz darauf: Auf dem höchsten Gipfel des Weissgrates, die Cima di Jazzi (3803m).

Obwohl auf dieser großen Höhe, stehen links Rimpfischhorn (4199m) und Strahlhorn (4190m) und rechts das Monte-Rosa-Massiv (4634m) daneben und schauen auf uns herab. Ein Wahnsinnsausblick auf diese Bergriesen, und gegenüber von Zermatt das Matterhorn, Dent Blanche, Weisshorn und die anderen Viertausender. Echt eine schöne Ecke der Alpen, der Hammer. Die Monte-Rosa-Ostwand lässt von hier super einsehen, der Blick nach Osten über das Tessin bis ins Engadin liegt leider unter Wolken. Auf dem Gipfel vespern wir erstmal, soweit wir sehen können, ist sonst niemand mehr unterwegs.

Von Gant bis zum Gipfel haben wir mit Pausen so 6 Stunden gebraucht, es ist jetzt 12 Uhr mittags.

Nach einer ausgiebigen Pause werden wir ganz hibbelig, denn jetzt gehts endlich abwärts, und zwar wiedermal auf Skiern. Eine traumhafte Abfahrt erwartet uns. Oben Pulver, dann dasselbe etwas schwerer, gut zum Surfen, und ab ca. 3400m dann optimale Pistenverhältnisse. Harter Untergrund mit minimaler Pulverauflage, was von unten gesehen lustige Fahrmuster entstehen lässt. Wieder bei der Gletscherzunge angekommen, packen wirs erstmal gar nicht. Als wir uns gerafft haben, gehts noch weiter, wir müssen den Hang queren. Wieder bei P. 2483 angekommen, treffen wir auf zwei, welche vom Strahlhorn abgefahren sind.

Wir halten uns nicht lange auf, sondern schultern die Skier, rutschen die letzten Schneefelder runter und laufen zurück nach P. 2314. Hier fängt nochmal der letzte Rest Skipiste an, also nochmal anschnallen, und die 30-Sekunden-Abfahrt nach Gant geniessen. Das war aber wohl die letzte Skiabfahrt, bevors endgültig in den Sommer geht. In Gant machen wir erstmal ausgiebig Pause, trocknen unsere Sachen und ziehen die leichten Schuhe wieder an.

Der Runterweg nach Zermatt ist wunderschön, strahlenblauer Himmel und Postkartenblick aufs Matterhorn. Wir folgen unserem Aufstiegsweg und erreichen Winkelmatten um ca. 17 Uhr, was uns noch viel Zeit lässt, uns vor den Bahnhof zu setzen, das Treiben anzuschauen und zwei Bierchen zu trinken. Auf die Skitour!

Auf- und Abstieg 2200Hm. Auch im Hochwinter einfache und ungefährliche Skitour. Superschöne Gletscherabfahrt, nirgendwo steil. Als entspanntere Tour vom Stockhorn machbar, dann muss man aber für den Lift blechen. Ausrüstung: Eigentlich kein Seil, Lawinenzeug nur bei heiklen Verhältnissen und Stockhornroute. Der Berg wird allerdings nicht niedriger, also akklimatisieren, viel Trinken und Sonnencreme mitnehmen und ein GPS, falls es wolkig ist.

Werbeanzeigen
Fabian Paschke
Fabian ist ein sportbegeisterter Student aus Konstanz, viel in den Bergen unterwegs, am Liebsten auf Skitouren, Bergtouren, Hochtouren, Hauptsache lang und anstrengend!

Kommentar verfassen

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.